Home > box break, Michael Jordan, upper deck > Free Pack Produces Amazing Hit

Free Pack Produces Amazing Hit

Last week I placed an order with Dave & Adam’s Card World who I frequently shop with. I ordered a case of 2014 Topps Update Baseball mega boxes and 48 2013 Topps Update retail jumbo rack packs (I’ll post results of this breaks once I open them). It was a typical order for me. I tend to lean more towards discounted retail product for set building. I made sure to spend at least $200 to get the free 3-day UPS shipping, a great promotion of theirs.

ud-25thAnother great promotion that they have is a free gift with every order. It’s nothing amazing, usually your choice of several different retail products. The choices get better as your order total increases. Since I typically spend around $200 to $300 per order, the free gift is around $4 to $10 in value. On this occasion, I chose a pack of 2014 Upper Deck 25h Anniversary cards.

2014 Upper Deck 25th Anniversary packs were given out at the Industry Summit that year. The Industry Summit is a yearly event where manufacturers interface with retailers. All the heavy hitters give presentations and have giveaways such as this pack. Since this event is exclusive, you typically see some big hits coming out of the packs/boxes from this event. However, Dave & Adam’s sell these packs on their site 10 for $39.95, so I wasn’t expecting much. There are 5 cards per pack and it’s a multi-sport product. The base card design is a throwback to 1989 Upper Deck Baseball. I expected to get 5 base cards and simply move on to breaking my Topps Update products. Well, to my surprise, I pulled one of the best cards I’ve ever pulled in my life.

jordan

So yeah, that happened. A Michael Jordan autograph numbered /25. The numbering doesn’t even matter honestly. I’ve always wanted a Jordan autograph, but it’s just not anything that I’ve ever saved up for and purchased. I don’t have to do that now. I’m still kind of in shock as I type this the next morning. Of all the places one could pull a Jordan autograph, mine came from a $4 (free for me) pack. Unbelievable.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

