Home > Uncategorized > Digital Cards = Real Money

Digital Cards = Real Money

For the last few years I’ve been dabbling in the Topps digital card apps. Mainly, I log in every day to get coins and then I wait for something worthwhile to spend them on. I don’t really participate in any of the games on the sports apps. I also rarely spend real money in the apps unless it’s to get access to a pack that I couldn’t get otherwise. This is usually a .99 cent charge to buy the cheapest coin bundle.

The Topps digital apps are Topps Bunt (baseball), Topps Huddle (football), Topps Kick (soccer) and Star Wars Card Trader. Each app has been out for several years and they only seem to be growing year after year.

There are some collectors out there that spend serious money in the apps and on eBay. Yes, eBay. There is a huge digital card secondary market on eBay if you weren’t aware. These cards only exist in the apps. There is no physical card component to these like there is for Upper Deck’s ePack. However, you can trade and that’s how you’re able to sell these on eBay. They’re listed like any other card, but the standard appears to be offering them as “local pickup only” so that there isn’t any shipping/tracking required. Once your card sells and you get paid, then you trade it to your buyer within the app. They will give you their username in the app as part of the transaction. Easy as that.

Want examples of digital cards selling for real money, well here you go:

maeda

I got lucky and pulled these Kenta Maeda signature cards in the Topps Bunt app. The odds to pull the blue signature were 1:15 packs and the red was 1:75 packs. The packs cost 50,000 coins each. To put that in perspective, you get 10,000 coins per day for logging into the app. I had saved up just over 500K coins waiting for something worthwhile to spend the coins on. As you can see, I crushed the odds, which is why I say I got lucky. The blue signature sold for $16.00 and the red sold for $73.00. This is within minutes of me listing them. That’s $89.00 in real money for digital cards.

fitz

I pulled both of these Larry Fitzgerald signature cards in the Topps Huddle app a few weeks ago. The black was 1:5 odds and the red was 1:25 odds. I ended up pulling two black and one red. The packs were 100,000 coins each and again I got lucky pulling the three cards in a total of five packs. I only had 500K coins to spend. I sold the red for $16 and the blacks for $4 each. That’s a total of $24 in real money for digital cards. In case you’re wondering, the Huddle market is softer than the Bunt market.

I have plenty of other sales examples from both of these apps and the Topps Kick and Star Wars Card Trader apps that I’ll share over time. Maybe I’ll make a habit of posting my good sales in the apps.

I’m not one to judge people for what they collect. While this may not be my cup of tea, I can see why people do collect and spend money in these apps. There are some great designs and opening the digital packs really is the same thrilling experience as opening a physical pack. My only concern is what happens if/when Topps no longer supports these apps? The real world value of these cards only exists within these apps. All the money that people spent on these digital cards is suddenly gone. This may be a post for another time because I have a lot more thoughts on this.

For now, the apps are thriving. Topps has hired a whole team of designers and mobile developers in Florida to support and grow their digital business. How long it will last no one knows.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 5, 2016 at 10:10 am

    Where do you sell these cards? I’m not too into the online card thing either, and haven’t spent a penny on them, but it’d be interesting to see how things I’ve acquired are listed and could use that $ toward physical cards. Thanks

    • May 5, 2016 at 10:16 am

      I sell on eBay, but I know there are other avenues for selling. Digitalcardmarketplace.com is one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

