Home > 1960 world series, pittsburgh pirates, PSA, roberto clemente, topps > I’ve Obtained My Holy Grail of Baseball Cards

I’ve Obtained My Holy Grail of Baseball Cards

I still haven’t posted my collecting priorities for 2012, but if I had, the following card would have been #1 on the list. My holy grail of baseball cards is the 1955 Topps Roberto Clemente rookie card and I now own one. Sure, it’s only a PSA 1, but that doesn’t bother me at all. The card is complete and the colors are great. Most importantly, there aren’t any stains anywhere on the card.

My dad was raised just outside out of Pittsburgh, PA and grew up a Pirates fan. He raised me to be a Pirates fan and told me stories of the teams of his childhood. More often than not, the stories focused on the 1960 team. Their improbable victory over the New York Yankees in the 1960 World Series is something that any baseball fan from that era would remember, not just Pirates fans. When my dad wasn’t talking about that team, he was telling me about Roberto Clemente. A man that I had never seen play quickly became my favorite player and a mythical character that I only knew through baseball cards.

I had a chance as a kid in the 80’s to purchase this card from a local card shop for $100. I was going to buy it for my dad (and me) as a birthday present. The most I had ever spent on a single card at that point was $10 on a 1986 Donruss Jose Canseco rookie. When my dad caught wind of my plan, he quickly put an end to it. $100 was far too much to pay for any baseball card.

I’m not sure why it took me so long to purchase this card. I’ve surely spent more for other single cards than I spent for this one. I think I jut had it in my mind that this card was somehow unattainable. If anyone out there has a “holy grail” that’s affordable, I would urge you to purchase it. I cannot tell you how cool it is to finally own this card.

  1. January 11, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    Saw you on Twitter when Topps retweeted your post. Very nice Clemente! Grading companies should come up with another word for stuff like this, because I can’t look at this and think “Poor”.

  2. January 11, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Thanks, Scott. I don’t think poor when I see it either. It’s a great card.

  3. January 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Love the ’55 Clemente!

  4. mike
    January 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    68 Ryan rookie and 63 Rose rookie are my grail.

    • January 12, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      Do you own them yet? I’ve been looking for a ’63 Rose myself.

      • mike
        January 12, 2012 at 4:16 pm

        nope. But i am motivated to try now thanks to you.

      • January 12, 2012 at 4:25 pm

        Awesome. Be sure to share some scans with me when you pick them up. Those are two great cards.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

