Home > 1980 Topps, PSA, Rickey Henderson > My 10 Favorite Card Purchases of 2011: Number 5

My 10 Favorite Card Purchases of 2011: Number 5


Card #5 on the list is the only purchase I made this year that was on my list of 2011 collecting goals. It’s a 1980 Topps Rickey Henderson rookie graded BGS 8.5. My goal is to eventually get a PSA 9 or BGS 9 of this card, but this will have to do for now.

Henderson, in my opinion, is one of the most undervalued Hall of Famers. He won an MVP, was a 10-time All-Star, had 3,000 hits and his stolen base record will never be broken. Eventually, I think collectors will appreciate his accomplishments and his cards will gain in value. His personality and his unwillingness to retire may have rubbed people the wrong way, but there’s no denying his place in baseball history.

I think I’ll look to add a nice Rickey Henderson autographed card to my collection this year as well. I’ve always liked to pair up a nice graded rookie with a nice autographed card. I haven’t looked at what he has available in terms of certified autographed cards, but I’m guessing those can be had for a nice price too.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

