Home > BGS, Donruss, Dustin Ackley, Elite Extra Edition > My 10 Favorite Card Purchases of 2011: Number 8

My 10 Favorite Card Purchases of 2011: Number 8


Card #8 on the list is a 2009 Donruss Elite Extra Edition Dustin Ackley Turn of the Century Autograph /75 graded BGS 9.5. As stated earlier, I prefer EEE to Bowman Chrome, so I love having this card in my collection.

I purchased the card ungraded on checkoutmycards.com earlier in the year. It looked good in the scans and I was happy when it looked just as good when I had it shipped to me. EEE cards are very susceptible to edge chipping and bad corners because they always have dark borders. I couldn’t have been happier when this came back graded gem mint from BGS.

Ackley had a decent rookie season batting .276 and playing solid 2B for a miserable Seattle Mariners team. As the Mariners get better, I believe Ackley will develop into a .300 hitter with 15-20 home run power. I’m looking forward to seeing a full season from him in 2012.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

