2008-09 Topps Chrome Basketball Blaster Case Break

I promised you guys the results of this a while ago, sorry for the delay. You get 16 blasters in a case of these with 8 packs per blaster. I’d heard about the large number of refractors that comes out of these blasters and couldn’t resist picking up a case.

The picture below gives you the top highlights from the break. I’ll fill in the blanks with a few more hightlights as they’re not all pictured. I’ll also list the refractor totals below. The best pulls were 3 Derrick Rose base rookies, 1 Russell Westbrook refractor rookie and 2 base rookies, 1 Eric Gordon base rookie, 1 Michael Beasley refractor rookie and 2 base rookies, 1 O.J. Mayo base rookie and 1 Kevin Love base rookie. The best non-rookie refractor I pulled was a Kobe Bryant X-fractor numbered out of 288.

X-fractors (/288): I pulled a total of 26 (1.6 per blaster). The highlights were Kobe Bryant, Dwight Howard, Patrick Ewing, Wilt Chamberlain, Larry Bird and Isiah Thomas. I also pulled four rookies, none worth noting.

Orange Refractors (/499): I pulled a total of 14 (.88 per blaster). The highlights were Isiah Thomas, 2 Dwight Howard and two rookies not worth noting.

Refractors (not numbered): I pulled a total of 34 (2.13 per blaster). The highlights will probably sound familiar… Tim Duncan, 2 Larry Bird, Isiah Thomas, Dennis Rodman, Dominique Wilkins, Bill Russell, Russell Westbrook, Michael Beasley and two more rookies not worth noting.

This was a very fun break. The amount of refractors you pull from each blaster keeps you in suspense looking to pull a great rookie. Unfortunately, I didn’t hit a Derrick Rose refractor, but at least I got three base rookies of his. I did a Russell Westbrook refractor which made me happy. It would have been had been really nice to hit an orange or x-fractor of a great rookie. I’m sending the top cards into BGS as all of the cards came out of the case in great condition. Gem mint or pristine grades on those will make this case a winner. Oh, if you’re wondering, I came up a couple cards short of a complete base set.

  1. greg
    December 4, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    you never know with retail i purchased the 15 unopened nba packs for 9.99 from target it had a pack of 08-09 topps chrome and pulled a D Rose orange refractor i was extatec!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

