Bowman Chrome Wrapper Redemption 38 Pack Break

Well, they finally arrived. I missed the UPS guy a couple days in a row and finally had it held it held at the UPS facility and picked it up on the third day. The first thing I’ll say about these is I’m really disappointed in how these were shipped by Topps. The 38 packs were all put into a large padded envelope loose to bounce around during shipment. This obviously caused damage to many of the corners on my base cards. I know some people that had a larger number of packs coming to them received theirs in a box.

The bonus on these is that Topps initially stated there would be 5 cards per pack, but there ended up being 10. There are 11 per pack when you hit an autograph. There are 11 different packs, all with the same collation. I ended up with three of each pack so I was able to build 3 110-card base sets. Of the other five packs, one was the Strasburg pack, so that was a nice bonus to get an extra of him.

Now for the good stuff. Autographs are coming out of these packs at an average of around 1:18. Did that hold true for me? Yes, I got two autographs in my packs. I was sort of expecting a better ratio than that but it’s pretty much the same as buying a hobby box at those odds. The picture below shows an example of the black bordered base cards and one of my autographs, a Matt Barnes Team USA Chrome Autograph numbered out of 99.

I paid $255 for 684 empty 2010 Bowman Chrome Baseball wrappers on eBay back in December. I remember thinking “What have I done?” when I opened the priority mail box full of wrappers. I promptly went through them and repackaged them in an envelope to send off to Topps. I figured that this would be money well spent considering the amount of great low numbered autographs available in these packs. Little did I know it was going to pay off way more than I ever imagined. There is obviously one card everyone is hoping to pull from this product, the Bryce Harper Team USA Chrome Autographed numbered to 100. Well, as you can see below, I pulled it! This is far and away the most valuable card I’ve ever pulled from a pack. The $255 gamble back in December is going to pay off nicely once I decide to sell the card. I can tell you this much, it will not be until after Baseball America releases their 2011 Top 100 Prospect list.

  1. Matt H.
    February 18, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Needless to say, nice hit on the Harper!

    • Purvis
      September 26, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      I just purchased 24 packs from Blowout Cards and all 24 packs had the same collation and no autos. I’m guessing someone found a way to search them (someone always does) and I got stuck with the leftovers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

