Home > Donruss, ebay, fleer, Rickey Henderson, topps > My First Priority Purchase of the New Year

My First Priority Purchase of the New Year

One week ago I gave you my collecting priorities for 2011. Today I share with you my first vintage purchase. I picked up this 1980 Topps Rickey Henderson rookie graded BVG 8.5 NM/MT on eBay for $60 this week. I was planning all along to pick up a PSA 8, but I saw that BVG 8.5’s only run about $10-$15 more so I decided to go that route.

I feel like Rickey Henderson’s rookie is one of the more undervalued rookies for a member of the Hall of Fame. Henderson holds a record that will never be eclipsed, 1,406 stolen bases. Lou Brock is the next “closest” on the list at 938. I just can’t see this record being broken seeing as stealing bases has become somewhat of a lost art. Juan Pierre has the highest total of any active player with 527.

The other aspect that makes this card really desirable to me is that it’s Henderson’s only rookie card. 1980 was the last year that Topps was the sole producer of baseball cards. Donruss joined, and Fleer re-joined the hobby in 1981. The rest is history.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

